Montour Sheriff Office Group

Clair R. Heath
First Term: January 2020
Current Term Expires: January 2024

Office Location

Montour County Sheriff
Montour County Courthouse
253 Mill Street
Danville, PA  17821
570.271.3020 - Phone
570.271.3037 - Fax

Contact Us
How may we help?

Hours of Operation

9:00AM - 4:00PM
9:00AM - 4:00PM
9:00AM - 4:00PM
9:00AM - 4:00PM
9:00AM - 4:00PM

About Our Office

The Montour County Sheriff's Office performs a multitude of functions in support of the county, its citizens, and local law enforcement and first response agencies.  The office of the Sheriff is also tasked with providing security throughout the courthouse and security and prisoner transport for court proceedings.

Our Services

Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms

The Montour County Sheriff's Office is responsible for issuing Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms permits to eligible Montour County residents.  Applications are accepted and processed at the front counter of the Sheriff's Office, located on the second floor of the Montour County Courthouse, 253 Mill Street, Danville, PA during normal business hours.  Applications are available on site, and can also be downloaded by clicking the button below.  Applications require a $20.00 processing fee to be paid at the time of submission.

Pennsylvania License to Sell Firearms

Applications for a Pennsylvania License to Sell Firearms may be obtained from the Montour County Sheriff’s Office during our office hours. The application fee is $57.00. You must be 21 years of age or older, possess a valid Federal Firearms License and have your business physically located in Montour County to apply. You must appear in person in the Sheriff’s Office when submitting the application. Licenses are valid for a period of three years from their date of issue. Remember to bring valid photo identification when submitting your application. The address listed on your photo identification MUST match the address you are listing as the home address on your application. Examples of acceptable valid photo identification are a current (unexpired):

  • Pennsylvania Driver’s License
  • Pennsylvania Photo Identification card

You must also bring with you a copy of your:

  • Federal Firearms License (FFL)
  • Pennsylvania State Sales Tax License
  • Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) letter, if any
DO NOT sign and date the application until you are in the presence of a member of the Sheriff’s Office when you submit your application.

Pennsylvania Precious Metals Dealer License

A precious metal dealer license is required of anyone who purchases or makes appraisals of precious metals and their alloys for resale to refiners, brokers, or the public. Precious metals are defined as items of gold, silver, platinum, and their alloys, including jewelry but excluding coins and bullion. The license is valid for one year from date of issue. There is a $50 fee associated with the license and must be paid by check or money order payable to the "Sheriff of Montour County".

Useful Information

Montour County Sheriff's Office Deposit and Fee Requirements

The Montour County Sheriff's Office maintains a schedule of deposits and fees required for services provided by this office.  Click the button to view the fee schedule.  Please feel free to contact the office during normal business hours with any questions.

Pennsylvania Precious Metals Dealer License Application Information

The Montour County Sheriff's Office is responisble for issuing licenses to indviduals wishing to deal in the sale and trade of precious metals.  Please click below for more information on the requirements to receive a Pennsylvania Precious Metals Dealer License.